The National Archives of Nigeria was founded in 1954, by virtue of the existing Act i.e the National Archives Act 1992, the National Archives is primarily entrusted with the responsibility of permanent custody, care, acquisition and control of all archives of the Federal Government and of such other archives or historical records as may be required from time to time. As enshrined in the Act, Acquisition, Preservation and Dissemination of Archives are central and are critical aspect of its core functions.

The National Archives of Nigeria has three main branches :

29 Yakubu Gowon Way
Kaduna, Kaduna State, Nigeria

3 Colliery Avenue,
Enugu, Enugu State, Nigeria

Department of National Archives of Nigeria,
University of Ibadan, UI, PMB 4
Ibadan, Oyo State, Nigeria

There are smaller local branches at:
National Archives, 2nd floor, Federal Secretariat, Oke-Mesan, Abeokuta, Ogun State.


National Archives, Ekorinim Road, off Murtala Muhammed Highway, Calabar, Cross River State.



Federal Secretariat Complex, 2nd Floor, next to the Nigerian Steel Development Authority (moved from Item Street)

Port Harcourt


Schedule & hours
National Archives, Kaduna: Monday to Friday: 8.15am to 3.00pm, with early closing on Friday (due to Jumat service}.
National Archives, Enugu: Monday to Friday: 8.15am to 2:30pm.
National Archives, Ibadan: Monday to Friday: 8.30am to 3.00pm.
National Archives, Abeokuta: Monday to Friday: 9.00am to 2.30pm
National Archives, Calabar: Monday to Friday: 9.00am to 3.00pm

Working language(s)
Primary: English is the primary language.
Secondary: Hausa in Kaduna, Igbo in Enugu and Yoruba in Ibadan